DFW Major Championship Winners Crowned

Tournament Statistics for Rounds 1 & 2 Here

[June 5-6, 2018 | Euless, TX] It was a three-woman race from the start of the final round, as youngsters Avery Zweig and Summer Lee (classes of 2025 and 2024, respectively) clashed with the relative senior of the group, Plano junior-to-be Ellie Roth, in the final group of the day. All three ladies started the final round tied at the top, but when her final putt dropped on the 18th, the youngest of the bunch – Zweig – captured the title.

Zweig’s final round 1-over 72 earned her a four-shot victory in extremely tough conditions. High winds and unplayable “environmentally protected areas” that encompass Texas Star Golf Club made the course extremely tight and difficult. Zweig finished her round on a high note, birdieing the difficult par-4 17th hole en route to victory.

Lee finished in solo second, four shots back, and Roth finished an additional shot back of Lee, tied with Plano freshman Ashley Liu, who shot 74 in the final round.

In the Boys Division, Grapeland’s Rick Frauenberger and Mansfield’s Jackson Powers stood tied for the lead at even par to start the final round, but Frauenberger blew the doors of the rest of the field with a masterful 3-under 68 on Day 2, capturing the tournament title by seven shots.

Frauenberger made four birdies in his first six holes, then cruised through the back nine with minimal hiccups en route to his victory. Finishing in solo second, Plano senior-to-be Christian Castillo, shot even par in Round 2, jumping up multiple spots to finish runner up.

Three players finished tied for third – Southlake’s Tanner Bevill, Mexico’s Mauricio Cavazos (winner of the Spring Traditions Invitational) and Frisco’s Minas Manias.